Day #180 – Friends

A short post for this Saturday…because, well – I’m exhausted.

I’m exhausted because as many of you know I’m in the midst of training for a 1/2 marathon.  Yes, 13.1 miles.  Why?

For Tucker.

For Education.

For Faith.

And yes…for me.

I am a proud member of Team TobyMac for the Nashville Country Music Marathon.  We are raising money for the School of Hope and in exchange we get to attend ‘private’ concert.  Finally, a concert that Tucker will most likely be able to attend.  Not just any concert either, one of Tucker’s favorite musicians and the creator of one of our theme songs, TobyMac.

What’s the theme song?  Listen below…

We lose our way,
We get back up again
It’s never too late to get back up again,
One day you will shine again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever,
Lose our way,
We get back up again,
So get up, get up,
You gonna shine again,
Never too late to get back up again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever
(May be knocked down but not out forever)

No matter what – Tucker knows he has to get back up – I know I have to get back up.  We must keep trying, keep talking, keep working, keep moving forward.

The concert will feature fewer people and a smaller space – but most of all a group of concert-organizing folks who are amazing. We have been in ‘secret’ talks about special seating and several other accommodations to make this work for Tuck.  For more information on what exactly we’re doing see Day #94 – Whoops I Did it Again.

Today I ran nine miles and it was tiring.  You know what kept me going?

Yes, Tucker.
Yes, the sun finally appeared.
Yes, it was finally above 40 degrees
Yes, goals to reach.
But, what really kept me going was…

a picture of Tucker my husband sent
honks and waves from friends (bless this small town I live in)
perfectly placed songs; from Florence + The Machine, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Iggy, to TobyMac (that’s variety for sure)
and finally…a message from a friend of mine.

I have been blessed throughout my life with amazing friends.  Truly, I cannot even begin to describe the people that surround me.  One day I will write more about many of them – but today mostly is devoted to this special friend.  Why?  Because her son is also a friend to Tucker.

Last December when I decided to take on this journey I told her what I was up to.  Running this 1/2 marathon so that Tucker could see a live musical concert.  Do you know what she did?

She said, “That’s awesome.  Do you think he would have a better chance of making it through the concert if he had a friend with him?”

I shrugged and said, “Yeah – hadn’t thought of that..but probably.”

Without hesitation she said, “Then I’ll run too.”

Just like that.  Just. Like. That.

She’ll run too.  She’ll also run 13.1 miles – for us.

To be there for Tucker.

She’ll run too.

That’s what I find with so many of my friends – whether they are literally running beside me – or metaphorically running life’s race with me, they are right there.  They always have been.

Life often gets so busy that we forget to thank our friends for just being.  So – here is my first of many thank you’s…to all of my friends.  For listening ears, for thoughtful emails, for shoulders to cry on, for impromptu lunches and drinks, for thoughtful party throwing, for all of the things…

Thank you – I love you all and my life could not be what it is without you.

Without you…I could not be who I need to be for Tucker.

If you feel so inclined to support our efforts – here is my ‘giving’ site for the 1/2 marathon…as well as my ‘I’ll run too’ friend’s site.

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/NicholeHarken/runforhope2015teamtobymac
http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/ShannanOlmstead/runforhope2015teamtobymac