Day #230 – MacAttack, Day 2

Once we arrived in Nashville and found our hotel the entire trip was much easier…well, except for a couple of things I forget about because we live in rural Iowa.

It sounds a bit silly – but in our own comfortable environment I sometimes forget how many challenges we have removed or ‘learned to cope with.’  In a new environment – it’s just different.  He’s trying to make sense of so much.

The day begins with more questions…

What time?

Where?

How long will we be there?

How long will we stay there?

Who will be there?

What can I do?

We did the best we could do and finally my husband asked him to sit.  He sat across from him with a soda and said, “Tuck, we need to have a man to man.  I know that you like to know what is happening.  I know it makes you feel better.  I know it feels awful to not know. Your mom and I just don’t know all of the details.  I promise you that as soon as we know things we will tell you.  Have I ever led you astray or confused you or not been here for you?”

He answered, “No.”

“Okay then, I really need you to trust me.  Your mom has this race in the morning and it’s a really big deal.  She trained to run 13.1 miles for you.  So – we need to do the very best we can to help her be rested and calm so she can be ready to run.  No worries, okay?  I promise I will be right by your side.”

He answered, “Okay.”

Off we went to a spaghetti supper where Tucker got to meet and have his picture taken with TobyMac (well…we all did).

photo-18

 

Now, let me tell you about the excitement here.  After our photo, Toby agreed to autograph his new hat.

photo-19

The concert wasn’t far off…and I started to get nervous, but there was no need for nerves.

I was SO, SO, SO blessed by this entire event.  Little did Tucker know that I had done some recon work with the TobyMac folks.  I told them about Tucker and about why this concert meant so much to us.  Sure, it is awesome to raise money for a worthwhile cause…but to FINALLY have an opportunity to take my boy to a concert that he could at least have a chance of enjoying?  Heaven…just like heaven.

They reserved a row in a more ‘private’ balcony area for us.  It had an area that we could escape to and a bathroom only for the 40 seats in that balcony.  I had earplugs and sunglasses in my purse just in case it became too overwhelming.

The concert began, and we could NOT take our eyes of Tucker.  He was mesmerized.  I went over to check on him because he is so very self-aware and I knew would tell me how he was doing.

He put his arms around me, “Mom, this is awesome.  Thank you so much.  I love this.  He’s so great. I am seriously so happy right now.”

That sure made the idea of 13.1 miles worth it…

He also has a new favorite song.

It’s not a big surprise to me – he loves songs that have a ‘heavy beat.’

On our way home I asked about his favorites and what he learned.

#1 – My new favorite song is the one where Toby had a cane.
#2 – That God gives us ALL gifts and we should use those gifts to make the world better.
#3 – No matter who we are and we should love everyone.

That seems pretty complete to me.  Tomorrow’s blog?  Why I missed yesterday…it seems running 13.1 miles is exhausting!

Day #229 – MacAttack, Day 1

Well, the writing streak took a hit.  I hope you all understand – and I think you will after you read the next couple of posts.

On Day #94 – Whoops I Did It Again I wrote about my intentions to run a half-marathon.  For several reasons…

I love education.  Of all of my beliefs, this is probably the most strong.  I believe in high-quality education for EVERYONE.

I love God and stuff.  I have this thing about loving all people and talking, teaching, thinking about grace, compassion, forgiveness, and understanding.

I love to run.  Okay, not the beginning – but once I get started again I love exhilaration, the challenge, the zone.

I love Tucker.  Tucker has this thing called autism that prevents him from going to concerts.  Tucker loves TobyMac.

So, it turns out there was this thing called The Run for Hope (part of The Country Music Marathon).  Participants raise money for The New Hope Academy and in return get to meet TobyMac and attend a private concert.

Well, that happened this weekend. It was a phenomenal experience – for so many reasons.

First, if you’ve been reading this blog you know that one of the quirks about people on the spectrum (and let’s be honest…lots of other folks too) is that they thrive in a highly scheduled, highly planned, highly organized environment. This is especially true for Tucker.

One time we decided to go to the movie store and didn’t tell him we were going.  He tried to open the door while moving because he didn’t know where we were going.  NOT an exaggeration, NOT a lie – and it happened six months ago.

Problem #1 – We really had no idea what this concert/run weekend would look like.  We made the choice not to tell Tucker.  He doesn’t like to leave home, he doesn’t like to travel outside of Iowa (and sometimes within Iowa), and he certainly doesn’t like to go places that are unfamiliar.

So, we decided to keep the trip a secret.  His friends knew, his teachers knew – pretty much everyone around him knew – they also knew how important it was to keep the trip a secret.  I know, some of you may be thinking ‘that’s awful’ – but hedged our bets and it worked.

Estelle was in the Middle School play, The Wizard of Oz, on Thursday night.  On Wednesday night and Thursday I spent the day secretly packing and preparing.  I had to have everything in the vehicle ready to go before I picked him up from school on Thursday.

Mission Accomplished.

After her show we all piled in the Suburban. Let me preface this video by sharing that I have been debating whether to share or not.  It’s private and makes my heart melt a bit.  I asked Tucker and he wanted me to let you all see – he wants you to be part of his story.  Now, he likes watching the video and reliving that memory.

My husband thinks it’s good to share because of how the video begins.  Me saying, ‘Tucker, I need you to pay attention.”  I guess this doesn’t happen in typical conversations?  He’s right, it doesn’t  – but it’s become such a huge part of our life that I don’t recognize that as being anything BUT typical.

You’re going to hear me tell Tucker that we are going to Nashville and that his friend Austin is already there.  His first concern? The dog, Sox (Read Day #122 – Animals Belong Outside, Right?!?!?)

I stopped the video because I could tell he was quite concerned and I had no interest in recording him in a moment of distress.  If you are emotionally intelligent at all – you can see the worry begin.  Again, Tucker wanted me to share the video – he thinks it’s a great story.

What happened next?  An hour of questioning…

How long would it take?
When would we get there?
Was I sure Austin was really there?
What time did he leave?
Did I bring his iPad?
Where are his clothes?
Where are we staying?
When is the concert?
Where are the seats?
Will it be loud?
What kind of spaghetti will be at the supper?
What kind of other food?
What is our hotel number?
What states will we go through?
What kind of snacks do we have?
Is there a pool?

That’s just the tip of the iceberg…I promise.  As he began asking questions, I backed up.  We told him the story – from the beginning…from that December day when I decided to begin training.

90 minutes later…he fell asleep. Eight hours later, he woke up, in Nashville.