Day #284 – One Lesson

I’m really excited about today’s post.  Why?

For Mother’s Day I posted 13 important lessons that my mom imparted towards me.  SO, it would seem only fitting to write about my dad.

Today?  One lesson.

It’s not that he has only taught me one lesson…trust me, there are plenty of idioms I could repeat and reflect upon.

It’s one lesson though – a lesson that much of my life is built around.

Here it is…

Every day you wake up you have a choice.  You can choose to look at the world through a positive lens.  You can choose to give people the benefit of the doubt.  You can choose to be kind.  OR You can choose to look at the world through a negative lens.  You can harbor anger, guilt, shame, and hatred.  It’s up to you.  Every day.  No one dictates how or who you are – except you.  Every reaction you have is your own, don’t blame others.  Every day.  It’s your choice how to live.

One of the criticisms that I have received in my writing is that I’m too positive and how can I ‘actually’ be happy that Tucker has autism.  Well, duh.  Of course not.  No one wants their child to have difficulty in their life.

But I have a choice.

I can choose to focus on what is positive about autism.  I can choose to relish his quirks.  I can choose to enjoy the extreme focus on things.  I can choose to reflect, positively, on the strides we have made.

OR

I can choose to be torked off that autism is a part of our lives.  I can choose to only think about all of the difficulty.  I can choose to be annoyed.  I can choose to be angry.

It’s up to me – but that choice reflects on Tucker.  That choice reflects upon Estelle.  That choice IS how we live our lives.

I choose positive.

265452_799793066503_6641014_o

Because that is what he teaches.

 

3 thoughts on “Day #284 – One Lesson

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

  2. Pingback: Day #356 – Roots & Wings | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

