Day #272 – Summer, Summer, Summertime

Oh DJ Jazzy Jeff and Will Smith…you slay me.  I can’t help it…be prepared to have that tune stuck in your head the rest of the day.

Summer, summer, summertime
Time to sit back and unwind
Summer, summer, summertime
Time to sit back and unwind

I LOVE summer.  I don’t get the entire summer ‘off’ like many teachers, I still teach – but my schedule is much lighter. Yes, I love summer for that reason…and many others.

Why do I REALLY love summer?

I get the best version of Tucker, every day.  EVERY. DAY.  It’s like the weekend version, only better- because it last for three months.

I already wrote about how summer can be a struggle when it comes to ASD.  The lack of schedule and consistency CAN be distressing.  The summer can also be distressing because many families are still engaged in therapy sessions and summer school.  I remember these days well.  Vacations?  No way – we had to focus on our very ‘real’ life.  Many families are still focused on teaching and learning.

We no longer have therapy sessions. We don’t have summer school.  While the summer used to be distressing in our home – as he has grown and become more comfortable in his skin it’s become easier.

Okay, let’s be honest – it doesn’t have as much to do with him as it does me (really nothing to do with him).  Most days I have this autism thing sorta figured out. (I’m currently finding the BIGGEST block of wood in my house to knock on.)

During the summer….

  • I promote sleep.
  • I promote freedom.
  • I promote some screen time.
  • I provide just enough of a schedule to keep him happy.
  • I warn him with changes (in plenty of time) to the schedule.
  • I answer questions with ease (because I have less on my plate too).

Why do I get his best?

  • He gets enough sleep.
  • Social situations aren’t stressing him out.
  • He’s not struggling in any academic area.
  • He doesn’t feel different – he’s just with mom and sister.
  • He can spend as much time in the water as he wants.
  • There isn’t a set schedule – we’re never rushing (although he still wakes at 6:45 AM or earlier and is in bed by 9 PM).
  • He drives in circles around our yard in the John Deere Gator over, and over, and over, and over again. Same path, same speed – almost to the point that I’m not sure he’s actually paying attention.  But – that’s when his brain is happiest.  On autopilot.

With all of that said – I know what I should be doing.

I should be focusing on physical therapy even more (we have someone coming to our home).
I should be working with his writing every day.
I should have already found a math tutor for him.
I should be focused on all kinds of stuff.

But then I lose him.  I lose this best version of him.  I just can’t do that yet.  So, for now we’re just sitting back and unwinding.

We are walking together.
We are talking together.
We are riding together.
We are watching together.

Life has slowed…which means the sensory input has slowed.

So, for now – I’m going to take this summer pace for just a bit longer.  I know what I (we) should be doing, but I just can’t yet.  I just need to enjoy my boy.

Sit back and unwind?  For sure.

photo-23

Wouldn’t you?

2 thoughts on “Day #272 – Summer, Summer, Summertime

  1. This is exactly how I feel. I’m going to put away my “skills folder” and just honestly let him play and have fun for awhile. It makes us both so happy.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

