Day #261 – Insert Yourself

If there is one thing I’ve learned over the past couple of days it is this…

You can say it until you are blue in the face, but others may never really get it.

(It seems fitting to use this idiom – blue and autism and all)

blueface

So…keep saying it until you are purple and then indigo.

Insert yourself in the system, every day.  EVERY. DAY.

Just when you think people ‘know’ is the moment that you need to insert yourself to make sure people ‘KNOW.’

Yesterday I wrote about the end of the school year and how it causes anxiety for many children on the spectrum.  One simple thing that would ease this worry?  Knowing about next year.

Now, I get that the end of the year is FULL of chaos for all teachers, staff, and administrators.  I know Iowa’s pending budget issues probably have something to do with the uncertainty (read Day #210 – Autism Purgatory). It may seem that I think ‘my child’ is the most important…but let me clarify.

I have two children.  One is on the spectrum – one is not.

The one who is not on the spectrum is anxious to hear about her teacher for next year.  I simply say, ‘People will make that choice over the summer and we’ll find out by August.  No matter what, you’ll have a great teacher!’  She smiles and says, ‘Okay.’

The one who is on the spectrum?  He is also anxious to hear about his teacher for next year.  I simply say, ‘People will make that choice over the summer and we’ll find out by August.  No matter what, you’ll have a great teacher!’  Know what happens next?

When in August?
Where is their room?
What will we do during our time?
Are you sure we can’t find out now?
Will they know my other 8th grade teachers?
I know there are 4-5 teachers I could have – can I choose which one I want?
I don’t even know if I need someone, but I get why I have someone.
Do you think they will just let me pop in when I need help?
Will they be okay with me having snacks?
Did you tell them about me?
Will they like me?

Breathe, mama, breathe.

Know what could have happened if we knew this information a couple of weeks ago?

When in August?
Actually, Tucker.  We know now!  How exciting is that?!?!

Where is their room?
Let’s go visit their room and you can begin thinking about how that will work with your schedule next year.

What will we do during our time?
I don’t know, but we’re going to meet with the new teacher.  I bet you could ask him/her and tell them about all the things you like and know.

Are you sure we can’t find out now?
Yes, we can.  We know how important it is to you.

Will they know my other 8th grade teachers?
I bet so, but you can ask when you meet him/her.  You could probably even talk to your current teachers about your new special helper.

I know there are 4-5 teachers I could have – can I choose which one I want?
Possibly.  You could have a say, but the final decision will be up to the school.

I don’t even know if I need someone, but I get why I have someone.
Good.  I’m glad you’ve come to the point that you know how helpful it is to have an extra adult on your side!

Do you think they will just let me pop in when I need help?
I think it would be great if you asked them when we meet.

Will they be okay with me having snacks?
I wouldn’t know why not, but we’ll ask to be sure.

Did you tell them about me?
I told them ALL about your awesomeness – AND the things that you will need help with.  Trust me, I already know this teacher and we’ll be talking A LOT about how to help you be the best you can be.

Will they like me?
Why wouldn’t they?

It’s a handful of children that truly need to know.  It’s something SO simple that causes SO much peace.

So, today I began inserting myself…again.  It’s a good thing indigo is my favorite color.

One thought on “Day #261 – Insert Yourself

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

