Day #143 – The Funny of the Naughty, Part 2 of 2

(Continued from Day #142 – The Funny of the Naughty, Part 1 of 2)

The final (and possibly worst) instance.

The house had been clear of any squirting instances for some time.  I really thought we were in the all clear.  We were shopping in Wal-Mart for supplies to create his new Thomas the Train mural.

DSCF0852

He was sitting directly in front of me in the child’s seat in the shopping cart.  As we walked around I turned because I heard an odd noise.  I saw blue paint on the floor.  I thought to myself, “Goodness, someone better pay attention and get that cleaned up, that could cause an accident…and blue paint on your shoes?  Someone is going to get mad when they get in their car.”

I kept on walking.  Of course Tucker was still not really talking, so I continued to talk over and above him about things I saw, things I knew.  I always thought if I could just fill his world with me talking he would pick it up (sure enough, he did…now we often can’t get him to stop talking).

I felt my shoe squish.  I looked down.  On my khaki paints?  Blue paint.  I look at Tucker.  He has a blue bottle of craft paint in his hand, turned upside down. Squeezing, looking directly at where the paint comes out.  Smiling at the paint.

At some point he reached into the cart and retrieved this colorful blue bottle.  He removed the plastic cover and had been squirting it on me and the floor since the craft aisle.  That was an entire store ago.

I quickly paid for my things and left.

I got to the car and called my dad.  He laughed and said, “Dearest daughter, you have choices in life.  Always choose the choice that makes you happy.  What are you going to do about it?  Nothing.   It’s done.”  Then, I began laughing.  Hysterical laughter.  It was a life changing moment for me. I knew there was something going on with my son and I also knew that I would need to laugh, a lot.

What does all of this mean?

It means that he likes to view things from different angles.  It means he likes to see how things work – up close and far away.  It means he likes to understand a certain cause and effect on something concrete, “If I push this button, the Tide comes out.”  “If I squeeze this bottle, syrup (and paint) comes out.”

This is important because it’s the creative nature of how his brain works.  He views things from different angles and can often see relationships that others cannot.

The result?  One day during worship he wrote the alphabet..

A
B
C
D
…and so on…

Then he wrote the letters upside down.  Each letter beside the original.

Then he wrote each letter facing left. Each letter beside the upside down, beside the original.

Then he wrote each letter facing right.  Each letter beside the left side letter, beside the upside down, beside the original.

He continued until he had four columns of letters – all from a different perspective.

Yes – it’s bizarre – but I happen to think it’s also AWESOME.  It adds to the mystery of knowledge.  He is better able to understand the world from a variety of perspectives and it leads to his ‘outside of the box’ thinking. What are the greatest inventors (Edison, Franklin, Bell, DaVinci, Galileo, Jobs) if not outside of the box thinkers?

This is why in the midst of the moment when autism is frustrating me I try to focus on how exciting autism can be.

A new perspective, a new thought, a new invention…all from minds that focus on new and different.

I just wonder what he will offer, what will he see in his lifetime that we (as neurotypicals) cannot?  What will he add to the world?

I’m positive it will be wonderful and just case you are wondering…the khaki’s did not come clean.

One thought on “Day #143 – The Funny of the Naughty, Part 2 of 2

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

