Day #111 – My eyes, my eyes!!!

Friends is ‘my’ show – it was with me during the ‘prime years’ of my life.  When I started thinking about being hypersensitive to visual input, I couldn’t help to think of the episode where Phoebe sees Monica and Chandler…well…you know.

She screams, “My eyes!  My eyes!”

This must be how Tucker sometimes feels.  The overstimulation that comes from all of his senses often manifests itself in him covering his eyes – with sweatshirts, with blankets, with shoes, with anything that is readily available. Too much noise, too many lights, too many smells, and he will bury his head.

I love music – and so does he.  For quite some time I have been sad that he cannot go to a concert – to see and hear the music live.  Now, honestly – I don’t know that he cannot go, but if 1+1=2…well then a concert wouldn’t go well. The amount of input his eyes would take in would most likely send him over a cliff…

Unless it was in a smaller venue…
Unless I could create a schedule…
Unless there was an easy way out…
Unless I could arrange accommodations before hand…

How would I ever accomplish that?

About a month ago I made a choice (See Day #94 – Whoops I Did it Again) to run a 1/2 marathon.  I may be nuts, but there is good reason for me to run. I generally run for my own health and well-being…this time I’m running for Tucker and if that doesn’t keep me moving, I don’t know what will.

A summary of Day #94….

TobyMac is a very popular Christian musician that supports the New Hope Academy.  The school supports underprivileged children. Part of his mission in supporting the school is creating a team for the Nashville Country Music Marathon.  Participants on his team pledge to raise at least $1,000 for the school.

I dig that.

If you raise $1,000 your reward is a private concert.

I dig that.

One of our longstanding theme songs for Tucker?  Get Back Up Again.

We lose our way,
We get back up again
It’s never too late to get back up again,
One day you will shine again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever,
Lose our way,
We get back up again,
So get up, get up,
You gonna shine again,
Never too late to get back up again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever

The Tucker and mom theme song…

For me – when I get down about this thing called autism.  Keep on moving, get up, wipe away the tears, count your current blessings, and keep trying.

For him – when he gets frustrated with his brain.  Get back up again, Tucker.  Get back up – it’s never too late to try again. You will shine again.

I contacted the folks in charge of Run for Hope about my intentions – mostly because I wanted to make sure that Estelle could take part in the activities.  When they read Day #94 they reached out to me and we’re already creating plans for Tucker!  Making plans to control the visual stimulation (and general overstimulation) that may occur.  They are amazing people – and truly understand the challenge(s) that he may face.

If you need one last tax write-off before the year or just feel inclined to support the New Hope Academy (http://www.nhafranklin.org)- here is my giving page.

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/NicholeHarken/runforhope2015teamtobymac

Checklist from http://www.sensory-processing-disorder.com/sensory-processing-disorder-checklist.html:

_x_ sensitive to bright lights; will squint, cover eyes, cry and/or get headaches from the light
__ has difficulty keeping eyes focused on task/activity he/she is working on for an appropriate amount of time
_x_ easily distracted by other visual stimuli in the room; i.e., movement, decorations, toys, windows, doorways etc.
_x_ has difficulty in bright colorful rooms or a dimly lit room
__ rubs his/her eyes, has watery eyes or gets headaches after reading or watching TV
_x_ avoids eye contact
_x_ enjoys playing in the dark

5 thoughts on “Day #111 – My eyes, my eyes!!!

  1. Pingback: Day #113 – The Greatest Treasure? Knowledge. | 366 Days of Autism

  2. Pingback: Day #115 – What’s the Point? | 366 Days of Autism

  3. Pingback: Day #266 – Coaching | 366 Days of Autism

  4. Pingback: Day #279 – Tucker’s Version of Autism | 366 Days of Autism

  5. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

