Day #96 – Proactive or Reactive

Last week I watched a special on Lifetime entitled, Women of the Bible.  It was fascinating…really, really fascinating.  It got me thinking about Mary and all of the very amazing (but often downplayed) women in the Bible.

Mary advocated for Jesus – but she also understood his purpose.  Mary had to ‘let go’ of Jesus early in his life so he could fulfill his purpose.

It got me thinking…about reaction to the realities of life and our own purpose(s).

A couple of days ago I set out our advent wreath.

It got me thinking about advent….and waiting.

Today during worship our Pastor said the words, “Prepare the Royal Highway.”

It got me thinking…about being proactive.

Finally, the first lesson was read….and I couldn’t get off the first verse.  Isaiah 61:1

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoner

It got me thinking about advocating for others – giving freedom to the captives (in whatever form).

Reality of LIfe
Personal Purpose
Reaction
Proaction
Advocating

I have generated a series of posts about the inclusion of those with special needs in our congregations.  You may have read some of them…

Day #89 – The Trouble with Church
Day #82 – Human Labels
Day #75 – Go and Do Likewise
Day #68 – Faith
Day #30 – Social Cues 

Let’s not wait.  Let’s allow our personal purpose to advocate toward being proactive, not reactive to someone else’s reality.

If you remember from Day #29 – Sibiling Struggles I have a brother who was involved in a very bad accident when he was in 3rd grade.  He recovered, but his body still has memory of that fateful April day.  This taught us something about proaction and reaction.

My dad lobbied for an elevator at our church, not because anyone needed it -but because one day, someone would.  He understood something then…my brother didn’t need an elevator – but how would you (or I) feel being that person? The person that causes the reaction.

Let’s be proactive for those in our congregations who may need a little extra love and support.  This isn’t just about my own child with autism.  This is about all of us.  Those with cerebral palsy, those with down syndrome, those with physical limitations – all of us.  I think most churches have a good start – sound boosters for those with hearing difficulties, elevators for those who have trouble going up stairs, spots for wheelchairs in sanctuaries – but what else could we do?

When the ‘disability’ cannot be seen – what can we do?

Educate.  Why don’t we take time during our services to learn about others?  I truly believe that people are rarely rude on purpose – I think people don’t know, I think people get nervous, I think people don’t know what to do or how to help.  Since I’ve been writing this blog I’ve noticed a difference at our church.  People were always kind before – but now they reach out to Tucker.  Now, they smile at him a little bit longer, they talk to him a little bit more, and they reach out to me to see how they can be better for him.

That warms my heart – but the best thing?  It’s made him feel part of the community, part of something special, part of something that is supportive – and full of the best stuff on earth.

Maybe this whole thing is part of my personal purpose…better yet, what if it is Tucker’s?  Maybe he will grow to be an advocate for change – someone who teaches about being proactive rather than reactive.

Maybe, just maybe he will prepare the road for the realities that so many face.

Maybe, just maybe he will  “proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoner.”  

purpose-300x232

One thought on “Day #96 – Proactive or Reactive

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

