Day #80 – Thankfulness

I’m thankful.  I’ve spent a lot of time this week thinking about thankfulness and what that means.

Sometimes we have to be thankful for things we didn’t think we would or could be thankful for.

Thankful for hurt…

Thankful for death…

Thankful for troubles…

Thankful for heartache…

As my husband says…believing in God’s plan is believing ALL OF THE TIME, not just when it’s convenient or life is going ‘fantastically.’  Believing when things are not going right, when they are not going well, when the world feels like it’s crashing down – that is true belief..  This belief leads to thankfulness.

From a scene in the recent hit, “God’s Not Dead” (which I have some issues with…but the overall message is good…so bear with me).

Sometimes the devil allows people to live a life free of trouble because he doesn’t want them turning to God. Their sin is like a jail cell, except it is all nice and comfy and there doesn’t seem to be any reason to leave. The door’s wide open. Till one day, time runs out, and the cell door slams shut, and suddenly it’s too late.

So, today I am thankful for autism.  I am thankful for a life that hasn’t been free of trouble…because that life has taught me.

It has taught me about love and the power of a mother’s love.

It has taught me about understanding and that everyone has a story.

It has taught me about patience and that we need to give people time.

It has taught me about advocacy and standing up for what you believe in.

It has taught me about unconditional loving, unconditional…no matter what.

It has taught me about kindness and that everyone is fighting a battle of some kind.

It has taught me about faith and that when all else feels lost…faith will hold you together.

It has taught me about calmness and remaining peaceful in the face of all types of adversity.

It has taught me about protecting and standing up for those who can’t always protect themselves.

It has taught me about perspective-seeking and that understanding another is the first step in loving another.

It has taught me about adversity and that my true self is show in times of adversity – so I better hold it together.

It has taught me about judgement and to feel judged for that which we cannot control is an awful, awful feeling.

It has taught me about love and the power of partner’s love that makes you feel you can do, or get through anything.

It has taught me about the importance of a story and that sharing your story can have a profound impact on another.

Thank you.  Thank you for reading our story.  Thank you for telling me (and us) about the impact of our story.  Thank you for sharing your stories with me.

 

 

One thought on “Day #80 – Thankfulness

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

