Day #44 – Word Girl

I decided to write this blog for several reasons.  My husband convinced me that I had the right ‘voice’ to be a teacher and an advocate for Tucker and so many others like Tucker. So, far I’m averaging around 150 views a day – I’m so grateful.

Two weeks ago, I had a stark reminder of why I chose to begin writing and not wait around for a publisher to think my thoughts and ideas were worthy. It was also at this moment that I thought about those 150 readers – and what if those 150 readers shared with another 150 and another 150 and so on.  But, this explosion in readership wouldn’t be (it never has been) about me.  It would be about this comment…

A friend said to me, “So, what is Tucker’s prognosis?  Like will he be in a home someday or continue to live with you?”

Internal Words:

WHAT!?!?!

Are you freakin kidding me?  Did you really just ask that?  You know Tucker.  You know his capabilities.

What in the world?

Seriously.

AND…even if would live in the type of ‘home’ you are referring to, so be it.  If that it what is healthy and best for him – then that is the way it would be.

AND…even if he continued to live with us, so be it.  If that is what is healthy and best for him – then that is the way it would be.

images

External Words:

His prognosis is excellent.  He will live like any other person his age.  He will go to college and have a career (If the Vikings don’t call – I suspect he’ll be an Engineer or a Judge 😉 ). He will have a home.  He may or may not get married and have children.  He will be able to do all the things that your son can do.

THIS.

This is the very reason I had to start writing.  Education.  Part of what makes ‘our’ form of autism so difficult is that it is a strange dichotomy.  On one side, he does have special privileges at school to help him learn and function.  On the other side, he receives grades that are quite comparable to his peers.  He is different, yet the same.

One of the first people who I was introduced to after Tucker’s diagnosis was Temple Grandin.  Do you know her?  I often feel like she is the best friend that I never met.

Temple is an amazing woman (http://www.templegrandin.com).  She was diagnosed with Autism at age two.  What is her story?  It seems her mother thought she could accomplish anything, sound familiar?  She became an advocate for the livestock industry studying the behavior of cattle – how they reacted to ranchers and their surroundings.  She used all of that information and being able to consider the ‘sensory’ environment to revolutionize corrals.

Take 20 minutes in the next couple of weeks and learn how having a brain affected by autism affects your view of the world.  She’s speaking for so many…Tucker included.

Will Tucker, one day earn his Ph.D.?

Will he become a nationally renowned speaker, researcher, and advocate in something he’s passionate about?

Maybe not…but maybe he will.

4 thoughts on “Day #44 – Word Girl

  1. So glad I found your blog! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a mom of a child with special needs. As an aspiring special ed teacher, this helps me better understand the perspective and concerns of parents. God bless you and your family!

    Like

    • Karen,

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I certainly hope it helps you prepare for these wonderful young children and the families that come with them! Please feel free to share this blog with others who may find it helpful. If you ever have any lingering questions about a post, please feel free to share. Thanks Again -Nikki

      Like

  2. Pingback: Day #123 – Top 10 Celebrities on the Spectrum (actually 11) | 366 Days of Autism

  3. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

