Day 10 – Resource #1

To take a small break from the narrative, I will also introduce some resources for people who want to learn more about Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD).  I am not endorsing any of these organizations as better or worse – everyone has their own opinion.  I’m simply putting the information out there!

The first is Autism Speaks. http://www.autismspeaks.org

“Autism Speaks was founded in February 2005 by Bob and Suzanne Wright, grandparents of a child with autism. Their longtime friend Bernie Marcus donated $25 million to help financially launch the organization. Since then, Autism Speaks has grown into the world’s leading autism science and advocacy organization, dedicated to funding research into the causes, prevention, treatments and a cure for autism; increasing awareness of autism spectrum disorders; and advocating for the needs of individuals with autism and their families. We are proud of what we’ve been able to accomplish and look forward to continued successes in the years ahead.”(http://www.autismspeaks.org/about-us)

I follow Autism Speaks on Facebook.  Why?  Because they post pictures and uplifting stories daily.

Another reason?  Because it also can help Tucker.  On September 3 a post appeared.  The post was about Anthony Ianni.  Ianni is a Michigan State Basketball Player who happens to be on the spectrum.  For my super sporty guy, this was an AMAZING article for him to read.

I asked Tucker to read and summarize the article.  His response was, “Well, the player has Autism.  Like me.  But the most important thing is that you have to take advantage of your resources.  Okay Mom, I get why you said I have to stay on my IEP.  It’s part of my resources.”

Yes.  Enough said.  That is why I follow…

I can say it a zillion times, but when a Michigan State hoops player says it…well, that’s the be all and end all.

Anthony Ianni is inherently much smarter than Tucker’s mother…hey, whatever works.

anthony_ianni

To read the post go to:  http://www.autismspeaks.org/blog/2014/09/03/my-back-school-experiences-autism

 

One thought on “Day 10 – Resource #1

  1. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a Reply

