Day #221 – Living Right Never Gets Old

An homage to my husband and son today….

My husband’s favorite saying, ‘Living right never gets old.’  Today it has new meaning.

There has been lots of great news this week.  If you haven’t hard about Dan Price, the CEO of Gravity Payments – please check this link.  Essentially he was doing some self-reflecting, “The market rate for me as a C.E.O. compared to a regular person is ridiculous, it’s absurd.” From that reflection and reading about personal happiness he decided to cut his own pay from $1 Million to $70,000 – but he went even further when he told his employees that by the year 2017 all of them will make a minimum of $70K.  Last night we had a great conversation about Mr. Price and money.

That’s living right.

We are also in the throes of a big fundraiser for our church.  We had a great discussion on how this fundraiser is more about our community then it is about ‘making money.’  It provides people with food and a place for fellowship – it’s part of the fabric and the thread of our community, church and civic.

Then he said to me, “Money, or profit, is the result of being in business. It is never the reason to be in business.  This event?  This event is about our youth and elders working side by side.  It’s about having a place for community and fellowship.  It’s about tradition, it’s about sitting down with your neighbor for a cup of coffee and a piece of pie.”

That’s living right.

I thought about that…and my own occupation.  I know I could go out into the ‘real world’ and probably make another $20K…but being a teacher?  I’m not sure there is a job that compares to the satisfaction that comes with helping students find their way.  This week I had four former students present at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research – I have been mentoring them since last fall.  Two weeks ago, one of them said, “I don’t know that I can do this.”

Last night I got a message from her, “Oh I am having so much fun it’s so awesome.”

I am not a teacher because of the money, I earn money from teaching. The income is a by-product of my passion.

That’s living right.

I’m not sure I used to think that way, I would like to say I always have – but I know Tucker has helped us all to think about what ‘Living Right’ truly means.

The spectrum presents challenges when going out to eat…whether it’s the sensory overload or food issues.
Tucker teaches us about the value of sitting around our kitchen table, in our own safe environment.

The spectrum presents challenges for vacation…whether it’s strange places or schedule changes.
Tucker teaches us about the value of exploring our own state.

The spectrum presents challenges for going to movies…whether it’s the content of the movie or the volume.
Tucker teaches us about what it means to sit on the couch and share blankets.

The spectrum presents challenges in gift giving…he reportedly never ‘needs’ anything.
Tucker teaches us about the needs and the wants.

The spectrum presents challenges to learning…whether it’s in content or delivery.
Tucker teaches us about different ways of thinking.

The spectrum presents challenges in social behaviors…whether its difficulty in conversation or just feeling different.
Tucker teaches us that everyone has a story and we must be patient and loving.

The spectrum presents challenges in social gatherings…whether it’s too many people or too much activity.
Tucker teaches us the value of being great hosts – so he can have this experience, and retreat when it’s too much.

Sitting around kitchen tables, exploring the great state of Iowa, sharing blankets, understanding needs and wants, different thinking, being patient and loving, and being a great host?

That’s living right.

follow-your-passions

5 thoughts on “Day #221 – Living Right Never Gets Old

  1. Well said! I try to live my life the same way. I BELIEVE in living right. This was so motivational for me. I’m on my lunch break here at work. I am a teacher also…I love it…no matter how difficult it may get. Thank you for this 🙂

    Like

    • Greatest news ever!! I love how sometimes you read something when you are not expecting it and it puts your day (and often attitude) back on track. I’m so happy I could do that for you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely – it days make our world feel so ‘good.’ But there are still times I long for the adventures that other families can have! Maybe someday…I keep hoping and believing.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Day #327 – Indexing | 366 Days of Autism

Leave a comment